Studying at UCL



At UCL, as in all Belgian universities, Academic education is divided into three cycles in accordance with the so-called Bologna system.

  • Bachelor’s degree (first-cycle), awarded after three years of study (180 credits).
  • Master’s degree (second-cycle), awarded after two further years of study (120 credits), or, in some cases, after one year (60 credits).
  • An Advanced Master’s programme is open to those students holding a Master’s degree worth 120 credits.
  • PhD (third-cycle): candidates are required to follow a doctoral programme (60 credits) and write a thesis (120 credits).

Check out the booklet "A master's programme at UCL"

See the organization chart and study programmes offered by UCL on the Teaching and Training website.

The academic year starts in mid-September and finishes at the end of June (you can only start in September). Lectures are spread over two semesters: the first semester starts in mid-September and finishes at the end of December, and is followed by an examination session extending over the first three weeks of January. The second semester starts at the end of January and ends in mid-May. This is followed by an examination session over the month of June. A third session is held in the second half of August and the first week of September so that students can resit exams in which they did not receive the required grades. Check the academic calendar.

Our teaching language is French. However, the University sometimes offers certain lectures and study programmes in English. You can also do refresher language courses to bring your French up to scratch.

With the exception of certain programmes, our course fees are made up of a standard fee (835 euros in 2015-2016) and an international fee, the latter applicable to students from countries that are not members of the European Union. 

| 20/01/2016 |
Podcast étudiants internationaux