Constitutional Law

ldroi1222  2021-2022  Louvain-la-Neuve

Constitutional Law
8 credits
90.0 h + 14.0 h

The prerequisite(s) for this Teaching Unit (Unité d’enseignement – UE) for the programmes/courses that offer this Teaching Unit are specified at the end of this sheet.
Main themes
The subjects studied include: 1. The Constitution 2. Citizens 3. Political authorities 4. The federal powers 5. The federated powers 6. The division of powers 7. The federal functions 8. The federated functions 9. Crisis procedures. The course consists of lectures completed, where necessary, by other teaching methods. The syllabus should be available to the students at the beginning of the term. Compulsory sessions of practical training (14 hours) provide the students with the opportunity to develop a practical approach of the subjects taught. These sessions are prepared by the students, whose performances are evaluated by an assistant. Together with the head of the department, the teacher sees that the practical training and the lectures are coherent and well connected, including with respect to the evaluation.

At the end of this learning unit, the student is able to :

1 The constitutional law course is aimed at enabling students to acquire, on the one hand, an understanding of the main problems posed by the legal framework governing political organisation at every level and, on the other, the definition of the status of citizens (human rights and political rights). It includes a study of constitutional norms, the status of the citizen and the different political systems.
Faculty or entity

Programmes / formations proposant cette unité d'enseignement (UE)

Title of the programme
Bachelor in Law

Minor in Law (access)