Georges Lemaître Chair

Since its creation in 2016, the Georges Lemaître Chair has been awarded every two years to a leading personality in physics in the fields of particle physics and cosmology. The Georges Lemaître Chair is named after Georges Lemaître, one of all times Belgium's leading physicists and recognized father of the Big Bang theory. He was a professor at UCLouvain from 1925 to 1964.

The recipients of the Chair are:

Eric Gourgoulhon
French researcher in theoretical astrophysics, Éric Gourgoulhon is directeur de recherche of the CNRS, he works at the Laboratoire Univers et théories in Meudon. He received the médaille d'argent of the CNRS in 2012, the prize Langevin from the Académie des sciences (2004) and the prize Jeune chercheur of the Société Française des spécialistes d'astrophysique (1998) - link
2017 Kyle Cranmer 
Professor of physics at New York University and affiliate member of the Center for Data Science and CILVR Machine Lab of New York University, he is an experimental particle physicist, mainly at the Large Hadron Collider of the CERN laboratory. He received his Ph.D. in Physics from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 2005 and his B.A. in Mathematics and Physics from Rice University. He received the Presidential Early Career Award in Science and Engineering in 2007 and the National Science Foundation's Career Award in 2009. Professor Cranmer has developed an environment that allows collaborative statistical modeling, widely used in the discovery of the Higgs boson in July 2012. His current interests are on the borderline between physics, statistics and machine learning. - link