UCLouvain officially joins the IceCube Collaboration !

The IceCube Collaboration has accepted the membership application of the astroparticle group at IRMP, led by Gwenhael De Wasseige. 

UCLouvain becomes the fourth university in Belgium, with ULB, UGent, and VUB to join IceCube.IceCube is a neutrino telescope buried in the ice of the South Pole. More than 5000 sensors are deployed across 1 cubic kilometer to search for the Cherenkov photons emitted as a consequence of the interaction of a neutrino with the ice. With more than 300 members from 53 institutes around the globe, the IceCube Collaboration has already a long list of achievements, such as the discovery of high-energy astrophysical neutrinos, and the identification of the first source seen in electromagnetic waves and high-energy neutrinos.

The IRMP group will focus on the detection of astrophysical neutrinos from transient phenomena, such as gamma-ray bursts, binary compact mergers, and solar flares.

Published on October 15, 2021