Put human values at the center of the enterprise


In order to highlight LSM's motto « excellence and ethics in business », the faculty and its main two research institutes are organizing an honorary doctorate ceremony. This event will be the opportunity to celebrate LSM’s 15th anniversary as a full faculty inside UCLouvain. The theme chosen is “put human values at the center of the enterprise”. It will be approached through the various aspects of the involved entities.

All three awarded personalities are outstanding and influential in their respective domains, namely Edeltraud Hanappi on diversity and gender issues, Rodolphe Durand on strategy and CSR aspects and Raghuram Rajan in the field of finance and related ethical questions.

The aim is to warn the society against the excesses of some stakeholders from the finance world or capitalist system. These very complementary, even if contrasted, personalities will testify of the richness and diversity of management as a scientific research field.

LouRIM's nominee: Prof. Rodolphe Durand

Rodolphe Durand is the Joly Family Professor of Purposeful Leadership at HEC-Paris and the founder and academic director of the Society and Organizations Center (S&O) which he launched in 2009. Over the recent years, he was Visiting Professor at New York University (Stern Business School) and at Cambridge University (Judge Business School), and in 2012 Visiting Scholar at Harvard Business School.

His domains of interest are the evaluation of firms, CSR policies, and their links with performance and competitive advantage. He is also interested by the normative and cognitive dimensions of firms' performance, and especially the consequences for firms of identifying and coping with the current major environmental and social challenges.

For his work, Rodolphe received awards from the American Sociological Association, the European Academy of Management, and the Strategic Management Society among others. As an advisor, senior advisor, and non-executive board member, he works with multiple organizations on assessing competitive advantage, and developing and implementing new strategies.

LSM's nominee: Prof. Edeltraud Hanappi-Egger

Edeltraud Hanappi-Egger holds a PhD in Computer Science and is full professor for Gender and Diversity in Organizations. She is Head of the Institute for Gender and Diversity in Organizations at Vienna University of Economics and Business (WU). She was guest researcher at several international research institutions (e.g. 2011 at LSE, 2014 at McGill University). Edeltraud Hanappi-Egger has published more than 350 articles, books and book chapters on gender and diversity, organization studies and diversity management. 

She has recently been reelected as the rector of Vienna University of Economics and Business (WU).

LIDAM's nominee: Prof. Raghuram G. Rajan

Raghuram Rajan is the Katherine Dusak Miller Distinguished Service Professor of Finance at Chicago Booth. He was the 23rd Governor of the Reserve Bank of India between September 2013 and September 2016. Between 2003 and 2006, Dr. Rajan was the Chief Economist and Director of Research at the International Monetary Fund.

Dr. Rajan’s research interests are in banking, corporate finance, and economic development, especially the role finance plays in it. The books he has written include The Third Pillar: How the State and Markets are leaving Communities Behind forthcoming, 2019, I do What I do: On Reform, Rhetoric, and Resolve, 2017, and Fault Lines: How Hidden Fractures Still Threaten the World Economy, for which he was awarded the Financial Times-Goldman Sachs prize for best business book in 2010.

Dr. Rajan is a member of the Group of Thirty. He was the President of the American Finance Association in 2011 and is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. In January 2003, the American Finance Association awarded Dr. Rajan the inaugural Fischer Black Prize for the best finance researcher under the age of 40. The other awards he has received include the Infosys prize for the Economic Sciences in 2012, the Deutsche Bank Prize for Financial Economics in 2013, Euromoney Central Banker Governor of the Year 2014, and Banker Magazine (FT Group) Central Bank Governor of the Year 2016.

24 & 25 October 2019


Published on October 22, 2019