IELTS (International English Language Testing System) is a method of assessing the English language proficiency of non-native speakers who wish to study or train in English or to emigrate to an English speaking country. 

IELTS is jointly managed by University of Cambridge ESOL Examinations, British Council and IDP: IELTS Australia.
IELTS is recognised by more than 7.000 institutions (among which 2.000 universities) in over 135 countries. More than 2 millions candidates take the test each year.
IELTS is an entrance requirement by British, Australian, New Zealand, Canadian and American universities and for secondary, vocational and training programmes. The IELTS test is valid for a period of 2 years.

Two versions :

  • the academic module  (suitable for those seeking admission to undergraduate and postgraduate courses)
  • the general training module (for emigration purposes or to undertake work experience or training programmes not at degree level)

All candidates are tested in Listening, Reading, Writing and Speaking:  the four modules are equally weighted.  

In Belgium

: several dates of test are offered at the British Council Brussels.


The IELTS test (Academic module) is organised once a year.

It will take place on 25 April 2015 in Louvain-la-Neuve,
aimed at students who are completing their English teaching.

conditions and registration procedure : via the student's faculty

Fees: 202 euro

General information : please contact the secretariat of the ILV.

Related Websites