Summer School in Algebra and Topology


This Summer School in Algebra and Topology will take place in Louvain-la-Neuve from Wednesday 12 September (morning) to Saturday 15 September 2018 (at noon).

The invited speakers of the Summer School will be professors Maria Manuel Clementino (University of Coimbra), Alberto Facchini (University of Padova) and Tim Van der Linden (Université catholique de Louvain). 

The Summer School will consist in three intensive courses addressed to Master and PhD students, that will be of interest also for more experienced researchers in mathematics. This event is part of a joint project of the Université catholique de Louvain with the universities of Coimbra, Padova and Poitiers, promoting research collaborations within the Coimbra Group. The project is funded by UCL for the period January 2018-December 2020. 


(a precise schedule will be available in June)

Topological algebras - Maria Manuel Clementino 
Commutative monoids, noncommutative rings and modules - Alberto Facchini 
Non-associative algebras - Tim Van der Linden 


In order to register it suffices to send an email to Mme Carine Baras by mentioning the affiliation, the academic status (master student, PhD student, post-doc, permanent researcher, academic, etc.). If an accommodation is required, two options will be proposed, if still available: a room at the Ibis Style Hotel in Louvain-la-Neuve (in a single or in a double room), or a room in a university residence. The deadline for the registration is June 15, 2018.


  1. Melten Altun-Özarslan (Università degli Studi di Padova)
  2. Per Bäck (Mälardalen University)
  3. Agnes Broeren
  4. Guillermo Cafaggi Lopez (Université catholique de Louvain)
  5. Federico Campanini (Università degli Studi di Padova)
  6. Alan Cigoli (Università degli Studi di Milano)
  7. Maria Manuel Clementino (Universidade de Coimbra)
  8. Morine Delhelle (Université catholique de Louvain)
  9. Arnaud Duvieusart (Université catholique de Louvain)
  10. Alberto Facchini (Università degli Studi di Padova)
  11. Eigil Fjeldgren Rischel (University of Copenhagen)
  12. Marino Gran (Université catholique de Louvain)
  13. Xabier García Martínez (University of Santiago de Compostela)
  14. Leila Heidari Zadeh (Università degli Studi di Padova)
  15. Philipp Jukic (University of Innsbruck)
  16. Leonardo Larizza (Universidade de Coimbra)
  17. Sandra Mantovani (Università degli Studi di Milano)
  18. Sébastien Mattenet (Université catholique de Louvain)
  19. Andrea Montoli (Università degli Studi di Milano)
  20. Grégoire Naisse (Université catholique de Louvain)
  21. Maria Pilar Paez Guillan (University of Santiago de Compostela)
  22. Jason Parker (University of Ottawa)
  23. Elena Francesca Poma (Università di Torino)
  24. François Renaud (Université catholique de Louvain)
  25. Willian Ribeiro Silva (Universidade de Coimbra)
  26. Thomas Saillez (Université catholique de Louvain)
  27. Alexandra Samonek (Université catholique de Louvain)
  28. Cyrille Simeu (Université catholique de Louvain)
  29. Florence Sterck (Université catholique de Louvain)
  30. Idriss Tchoffo Nguefeu (Université catholique de Louvain)
  31. Paolo Saracco (Université Libre de Bruxelles)
  32. Mark Sioen (Vrije Universiteit Brussel)
  33. Xian Toh (Syracuse University)
  34. Tim Van der Linden (Université catholique de Louvain)
  35. Karen Van Opdenbosch (Vrije Universiteit Brussel)
  36. Pedro Vaz (Université catholique de Louvain)
  37. Elia Rizzo (Université catholique de Louvain)
  38. Wouter Van Den Haute (Universiteit Antwerpen)
  39. Enrico Vitale (Université catholique de Louvain)
  40. Julie Zangenberg Rasmusen (University of Copenhagen)
  41. Daniel Zimmer (Université catholique de Louvain)