×

Message d'avertissement

Les soumissions sont clôturées pour ce formulaire.

Economic Consequence of Legal Development

With the support of the National Fund for Economic Research (FNRS), CRIDES and IRES assembled a research team working in the field of Law and Economics. We are organizing a one-day workshop on the Economic consequences of Legal Development to be held at the Université catholique de Louvain (Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium) on September 28th, 2018.

Sept 27 (19:00): DINNER FOR SPEAKERS/ORGANIZERS ONLY (https://www.loungeatude.be/)

Sept 28 (9:00-17:50): CONFERENCE

9:00-9:10: Opening Welcome by Prof. Alain Strowel

9:10-11:10: Session 1 – Justice and the Judiciary: Constitutional Dimensions (Chair: Alexia Autenne)

  • Stefan Voigt (Hamburg University, stefan.voigt@uni-hamburg.de): Encore: on the relationship between de jure and de facto Judicial Independence.
  • Samantha Bielen (University of Hasselt, samantha.bielen@uhasselt.be): The Duration of Judicial Deliberation - Evidence from Belgium.
  • Katarzyna Metelska-Szaniawska (University of Warsaw, kmetelska@wne.uw.edu.pl): Constitutional compliance and economic performance in post-socialist countries.

11:10-11:30: Coffee break

11:30-12:30: Keynote Address (Chair: Filip Dorssemont)

  • Simon Deakin (Cambridge University, sfd20@cam.ac.uk): The regulation of inequality.

12:30-14:00: Lunch

14:00-15-20: Session 2 – Access to Justice and Economic Growth (Chair Frédéric Docquier)

  • Arnaud Deseau (Université Saint-Louis in Brussels, arnaud.deseau@usaintlouis.be): Access to justice and economic growth: cross-country evidence.
  • Adam Levai (Université catholique de Louvain, adam.levai@uclouvain.be): Access to justice and growth: the transmission channels.

15:20-15:50: Coffee break

15:50-17:50: Session 3 – Comparative Judicial Efficiency in Law and Economics (Chair: Michèle Schmielegelow)

  • Baptiste Massenot (Goethe University in Frankfurt, baptistemassenot@gmail.com): Judicial efficiency and litigation spending.
  • Bruno Deffains (Université Paris 2 Panthéon-Assas, Bruno.Deffains@orange.fr): Economics of Legal Origins: Revisiting the ‘Law Matters’ Thesis.
  • Virginia Rosales (University of Grenada, vrosales@ugr.es): Litigation, Courts and Economy: Evidence from Spain.

This workshop continues a series of two international conferences organized in 2009 and in 2012 on Institutional Competition between Common Law and Civil Law in Developing and Transforming Countries. The 2018 workshop is organized as a final part of the FNRS research project on Access to Justice and Economic Growth. All travel and accommodation expenses will be covered by the organizers (https://www.martinshotels.com/fr/hotel/martins-louvain-la-neuve/the-hotel).

Scientific committee: Prof. A. Autenne, Prof. Frédéric Docquier,
Prof. Filip Dorssemont, Prof. (Em.) Michèle Schmiegelow.

 

Registration Form