Governance and representation


President of the Institute

Fanny Meunier



President of the Council of the Institute

Liesbeth Degand



Research clusters

Communication Research Cluster (PCOM)

Head: Damien Renard (

Linguistics Research Cluster (PLIN)

Head: Kristel Van Goethem (


The members of the ILC Board and Council for the current year

The Council is the Institute’s decision-making body. It meets at least once a year, and in any event

  •  in May-June: to draw up the annual activity report for the previous calendar year;
  •  in December: to determine the budget for the coming calendar year and to draw up the list of members.

The Institute’s executive body is the “Bureau”. It meets at least six times yearly to manage the life of the Institute in terms of research projects, human resources, budget and communication (internal and external).

The election of representatives is governed by the internal regulations of the various bodies.


Representatives on the 2021 ILC Council

Chair: Liesbeth Degand

Academics: all


  • Staff: Julie Van de Vyver, Mélanie Mottin, Ludivine Crible, Géraldine Wuyckens, Ines Kalai, Louise-Amélie Cougnon, Alice T'Kint, Lara Burton, Laetitia Aulit, Natacha Buntinx and Diana Jarnea
  • Substitutes: Violeta Gutierrez, Christelle Christophe, Kevin Carillon and Margaux Guyot


  • Sandrine Degaye
  • Laurence Mundschau

Administrative Coordination: Laurence Mundschau

Members of the 2021 ILC Board

Chair: Fanny Meunier


  • Pierre Fastrez (PCOM)
  • Magali Paquot (PLIN) - substitute: Kristel Van Goethem

Research Clusters:

  • Damien Renard (PCOM)
  • Barbara De Cock (PLIN) - substitute: Thomas François


  • Sébastien Nahon (MIIL representative)
  • Patrick Watrin (CENTAL representative)


  • Staff: Violeta Gutierrez Figueroa (PLIN) and Christel Christophe (PCOM)
  • Substitute scientists: (PLIN) and (PCOM)

Secretariat: Sandrine Degaye

Administrative Coordination: Laurence Mundschau

ILC Administration