Public Thesis defense - IMMC


11 juin 2021



Auditoire BARB93, Place Sainte Barbe

Conducted disturbances in the frequency range 2-150 kHz : sources and propagation by Caroline LEROI

Pour l’obtention du grade de Docteur en sciences de l’ingénieur et technologie

Conducted disturbances in the frequency range 2-150 kHz have gained more interest over the last few years due to the evolution of the power grid. The traditional low frequency harmonics are indeed replaced by emissions in this frequency range due to the technological evolution towards self-commutating topologies. Furthermore, Power Line Communication is one of the chosen options as a means of communication for smart metering infrastructures. This technology uses the power network and works in the same frequency range, i.e. 2-150 kHz. At the same time, the standardization on this issue is still incomplete.

This thesis brings a contribution towards a better understanding of this kind of electromagnetic compatibility issue. This work adopts a theoretical approach for the development of the required models of the disturbing devices and the grid.

The two main categories of disturbing devices have been modelled. First, self-commutated inverters, such as those met in solar panels or in wind turbines, are considered. Both single-phase and three-phase configurations are investigated. The other category concerns rectifiers with Active Power Factor Correction as in Compact Fluorescent Lamps or in some electric vehicle chargers. The obtained models offer an interesting compromise between accuracy and simplicity.

The low voltage grid model consists of several elements in series where each element is in turn represented by three chain matrices for the positive, negative and zero sequence components.

Finally, the thesis provides an accurate method to study theoretically the propagation of one or several disturbances in that frequency range.

Jury members :

  • Prof. Emmanuel De Jaeger (UCLouvain), supervisor
  • Prof. Laurent Delannay (UCLouvain), chairperson
  • Prof. Marc Bekemans (UCLouvain), secretary
  • Prof. Véronique Moeyaert (UMons, Belgium)
  • Prof. Jos Knockaert (UGent, Belgium)
  • Prof. Sarah Rönnberg (LULEA University of Technology, Sweden)

Télécharger l'annonce