Doctoral Course - Communication and Writing Skills

LOURIM Louvain-La-Neuve, Mons

February 07, 2023

March 15, 2023

8.30 - 11.45 am

Louvain-la-Neuve

DOYEN 21

LLSMA2007 - Communication and Writing Skills – 5 ECTS

Prof. Valérie SWAEN & Manuel KOLP

 

Description

See the full course description here

What makes a good research idea?
Designing your literature review 
(Searching for literature; Quality of journals; Writing the literature review)
Developing your research design (Conceptual model, hypotheses, methodology)
Writing your paper: what and how? (Structure of an academic paper; Writing an abstract; Writing the basic sections: data collection, findings, discussion, conclusion, limitations and future research; Positioning a research and defining contributions; Common mistakes of novice writers)
Publishing process (Soliciting for feedback; Developing research papers; Selecting an appropriate journal; Order of authors; Making the paper ready for submission)
Reviewing your paper
Presenting your research in a research seminar
Pitch your research to a non-expert audience

 

Temporary Schedule 

Please note that this schedule is subject to change. Do not forget to check it later if you register to the course

Tuesday, February 07, 2023 Valérie Swaen 8.30 - 11.45 am DOYEN 21
Wednesday, February 08, 2023 Manuel Kolp 8.30 - 11.45 am DOYEN 21
Tuesday, February 14, 2023 Valérie Swaen 8.30 - 11.45 am DOYEN 21
Wednesday, February 15, 2023 Manuel Kolp 8.30 - 11.45 am DOYEN 21
Tuesday, February 21, 2023 Valérie Swaen 8.30 - 11.45 am DOYEN 21
Wednesday, February 22, 2023 Manuel Kolp 8.30 - 11.45 am DOYEN 21
Tuesday, February 28, 2023 Valérie Swaen 8.30 - 11.45 am DOYEN 21
Wednesday, March 01, 2023 Manuel Kolp 8.30 - 11.45 am DOYEN 21
Tuesday, March 07, 2023 Valérie Swaen 8.30 - 11.45 am DOYEN 21
Wednesday, March 08, 2023 Manuel Kolp 8.30 - 11.45 am DOYEN 21
Tuesday, March 14, 2023 Manuel Kolp & Valérie Swaen 8.30 - 11.45 am DOYEN 21
Wednesday, March 15, 2023 Manuel Kolp & Valérie Swaen 8.30 - 11.45 am DOYEN 21

 

 

A presentation day is organized in June