The Scientific Committee

The Scientific Committee has an advisory role on research policy and strategic choices. For 2022-2024, the Scientific Committee has been chosen based on the need to provide balance between the different disciplinary fields of the institute, variety of experience and nationalities, and differentiated expertise and academic and professional competence.

The Scientific Committee is composed of the following members :

Marilyne Andersen is a full professor of sustainable construction technologies at EPFL (Switzerland) where she directs the Laboratory for Integrated Performance in Design (LIPID). She was Dean of the Faculty of Natural, Architectural and Built Environment (ENAC) at EPFL from 2013 to 2018 and is the Academic Director of the Smart Living Lab in Fribourg. She holds a Master's degree in physics and she specialized in natural lighting during her thesis in building physics at EPFL at the Laboratory of Solar Energy and Building Physics (LESO) as well as a guest researcher at LBNL in California.​​
Paul Boino is a professor of urban planning and development at the University Lumière Lyon-2 (France). His research focuses on the analysis of the relationship between modes of organization and local public action, with a focus on: modes of local public organization: inter-municipal and multi-level cooperation; analysis of public policies: planning, household services, economic development and planning; regulation of local public action: effects of political and financial practices on the definition and conduct of local public policies; repositioning of the State and judicialization of public action.​ ​
Pierre Caye is a philosopher and research director at the CNRS (National Center for Scientific Research, France) where he founded the international research group “Artistic knowledge and treatises from the Renaissance to the Enlightenment”. Laureate of the French Academy in 1996 and of the Academy of Moral and Political Sciences in 2009, he has directed the Jean Pépin Center since January 2011. A graduate of the École Normale Supérieure in rue d'Ulm (1978), he has been developing for more than 30 years philosophical research on knowledge of architecture, urban planning and territorial development.​ ​
Dietmar Eberle is an Austrian architect. Winner of more than 150 national and international competitions, he has taught at several universities in North America and Europe (Hanover, Vienna, Linz, Syracuse, Darmstadt, Madrid, Jerusalem, Hong Kong and Barcelona). Since 1999 he has been a professor at ETH Zurich, where he was Dean of the Faculty of Architecture in 2003-2005. The architectural firm Baumschlager Eberle is a network of international offices, located on twelve sites in eight different countries in Europe and Asia. The firm has completed more than 400 projects​ ​
Matthew Gandy is Doctor Honoris Causa of UCLouvain since 2020. He is a cultural, urban and environmental geographer who is interested in landscape, infrastructures and biodiversity. He is Professor of Cultural and Historical Geography and Fellow of the King's College, University of Cambridge (United Kingdom), having worked at University College London (UCL) in 2015, where he was the founder and first director of the UCL Urban Laboratory (2005 to 2011). His research spans from the mid-19th century to the recent past and focuses on environmental history, including epidemiology, and the intersections between nature and culture.​ ​
Elsa Garavaglia is an architect and professor of building sciences at the Polytechnic of Milan (Italy) where she coordinates the Bachelor and Master courses in Building Architecture and is a member of the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering. Her research interests focus on the durability of materials, the seismic vulnerability of existing buildings and the maintenance of structures and infrastructures. In her research work, she has adopted the following methods and techniques: semi-Markov probabilistic approach, Montecarlo method, and fragility curves.​