PhD in Science & Technology

1. General information:

The Science & Technology Sector (SST) manages programs in the following domains:  Engineering Sciences and TechnologyArt of Building, Urbanism, Agricultural Sciences, Biological Engineering, Science and Veterinary Sciences.

In the field of education, the science and technology sector includes members of the Faculty of Science, engineers from the Ecole polytechnique de Louvain, bioengineers from the Faculty of Biological, Agronomic and Environmental Engineering and members of the Faculty of Architecture, Architectural Engineering and Urban Planning.

On the "research" side, the Science and Technology Sector has six institutes in which, from abstract formalizations to the most concrete situations, researchers in science and technology are thinking about tomorrow's development: water resources, rural economy, nanotechnologies , computers, radiations, etc.

PhD Manager
Laurence Bertrand
Bâtiment Réaumur, Voie Minckeleers 1, L5.01.02
1348 Louvain-la-Neuve
Tel: 010/ 47 30 47


2. UCLouvain rules:

More info

3. Conditions of admission:

More info

4. LIDAM PhD students:

4.1. Job placement 2017 - 2018:

Justin Delloye : LISER, Esch-sur-Alzette (Luxembourg)
Bartosz Filipecki : Technische Universität Chemnitz (Germany)
Jonas Teusch : Université Saint-Louis Bruxelles (Belgium)
Matias Schuster Puga : OM Partners, Leuven (Belgium)

4.2. Completed LIDAM PhD thesis in 2018:

January 25, 2018
Bartosz Filipecki. Strengthened formulations for MIP problems in networks
Promoter: Mathieu Van Vyve (UCLouvain)
April 4, 2018
Justin Delloye. Urban morphodynamics: Reconciling location theory and complex systems
Promoters: Dominique Peeters (UCLouvain) and Isabelle Thomas (UCLouvain)
September 3, 2018
Ignacio Andrés Aravena Solis. Analysis of renewable energy integration in transmission-constrained electricity
markets using parallel computing

Promoter: Anthony Papavasiliou

4.3. Current Ph.D. Students (2019)

Arnaud Adam (Core) Sarah Damai Martin Frohn Thomas Hacardiaux Ilyes Mezghani (Core) Wenli Peng
Daniel Avila Henri Dehaybe Céline Gérard (Core) Manuel Herrera Rodriguez Gaëtan Montero Redondo José-Miguel Quesada Perez
Gilles Bertrand (Core) Julien Dewez Madeleine Guyot (Core) Quentin Lete (Core) Yuting Mou (Core) Sonia Trabelsi (Core)