International collaboration is crucial to educating tomorrow’s citizens and meeting society’s major challenges. UCLouvain is a driving force in this realm. It actively participates in the construction of European higher education and research areas by getting involved in influential networks such as The Guild, and above all by creating, with eight other Circle U. universities, the European university of tomorrow.

The Circle U. vision 

Deeply inclusive, focused on excellence and interdisciplinarity, Circle U. brings together the skills of students, staff, civil society, business and private sector partners to develop expertise and hatch solutions for a common goal: to make Europe and the planet healthier, more peaceful, more sustainable, more democratic and more prosperous.

Circle U. commitments

Creating a European campus with an infrastructure that facilitates in-person and virtual exchanges

The idea of a “Schengen of education” entails facilitating access for all alliance members to courses, programmes, infrastructure and resources.

Developing innovative teaching methods

The goal of revisiting the boundaries between teaching and research is to offer students the opportunity to acquire skills and adopt values that enable them to navigate a constantly changing world.

Invoking European values to address major global challenges

Alliance members together create knowledge, solutions and policies. In implementing commitments, particular attention is paid to inclusion, equity, diversity, accessibility and sustainability.

"To meet the challenges facing Europe and the planet we must mobilise all our creative strength. With eight other world-renowned institutions, we have forged a common vision of what the university can contribute to society."

Dana Samson, Pro-Rector for International Affairs

students and 51,000 staff are at the heart of the Circle U. alliance.

An alliance of nine universities

  • Aarhus University (Denmark)
  • Humboldt University of Berlin (Germany)
  • King’s College London (United Kingdom)
  • Université de Paris (France)
  • University of Belgrade (Serbia)
  • UCLouvain (Belgium)
  • University of Oslo (Norway)
  • University of Pisa (Italy)
  • University of Vienna (Austria)