Bruxelles Saint-Gilles, Bruxelles Woluwe, Charleroi, Louvain-La-Neuve, Mons, Namur, Tournai


UCL organises its faculties, research institutes and service entities (technology platforms and other logistical and administrative support services) into sectors representing three broad fields of knowledge:

  1. Social Sciences and Humanities Sector
  2. Health Sciences Sector
  3. Science and Technology Sector

The sector is the realm of coordination and dialogue between the university’s three missions (teaching, research and serving society). Each sector defines general objectives for the disciplines under its purview; manages its academic, research, administrative and technical frameworks; distributes allocated funding and other resources, including infrastructure; and ensures intersectoral dialogue. In accordance with the subsidiarity principle, the sector interfaces with the university’s administrative departments and their constituent entities.