Workshop on Categories and Topology

On the occasion of Ieke Moerdijk being appointed recipient of the Chaire de la Vallée Poussin 2022, a Workshop on Categories and Topology will take place on Friday 9 September at the Institut de Recherche en Mathématique et Physique.

The following invited speakers have accepted to give a talk.

Pedro Boavida (IST, Lisbon)
John Bourke (Brno)
Sandra Mantovani (Milan):  Groupal Pseudofunctors - Abstract 
Ieke Moerdijk (Utrecht): Profinite completion of Quillen model categories - Abstract 
Aniceto Murillo (Malaga): The geometrical side of derivations of Lie algebras - Abstract 
Emily Riehl (Johns Hopkins): Absolute lifting diagrams and formal category theory - Abstract 
Jérôme Scherer (EPFL) : How complicated is the pullback of a (nice) extension? - Abstract 

There will be a Colloquium talk by Emily Riehl entitled Path induction and the indiscernibility of identicals on Thursday 8 September.

The Workshop is part of a Hoover SeedFund project supporting the research collaboration between Johns' Hopkins University and UCLouvain.

The precise programme of the Workshop will be communicated later on.


Marino Gran, Pascal Lambrechts, Tim Van der Linden, Pedro Vaz and Enrico Vitale.


If you wish to register or if you have any further questions, please contact Carine Baras.


The workshop will take place at the Université catholique de Louvain in Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium.


  1. Miguel Barata (Utrecht University)
  2. Pedro Boavida (Instituto Superior Têcnico, Lisboa)
  3. Federico Campanini (Université catholique de Louvain)
  4. Elena Caviglia (University of Leicester)
  5. Maxime Culot (Université catholique de Louvain)
  6. Jacques Darné  (Université catholique de Louvain)
  7. Florian De Leger 
  8. Nadja Egner (Université catholique de Louvain)
  9. Jacopo Emmenegger (Università di Genova)
  10. Francesco Genovese (Univerzita Karlova)
  11. Marino Gran (Université catholique de Louvain)
  12. Rodrigue Haya Enriquez (Université catholique de Louvain)
  13. Sina Hazratpour  (Johns Hopkins University)
  14. Pierre-Alain Jacqmin (Université catholique de Louvain)
  15. Pascal Lambrechts (Université catholique de Louvain)
  16. Pedro Malgalhaes (University of Barcelona)
  17. Sandra Mantovani (Università degli Studi di Milano)
  18. Sébastien Mattenet (Université catholique de Louvain)
  19. Arne Mertens (University of Antwerp)
  20. Luca Mesiti (University of Leeds)
  21. Aline Michel (Université catholique de Louvain)
  22. Julia Ramos Gonzalez (Université catholique de Louvain)
  23. John F. Robert 
  24. José Sao Joao (University Of Stockholm)
  25. Léo Schelstraete (Université catholique de Louvain)
  26. Anna Sopena Gilboy (University of Barcelona)
  27. Raffael Stenzel (Masaryk University Brno, Czech Republic)
  28. Florence Sterck (Université catholique de Louvain)
  29. Tim Van der Linden (Université catholique de Louvain)
  30. Pedro Vaz (Université catholique de Louvain)
  31. Joost Vercruysse (Université Libre de Bruxelles)
  32. Corentin Vienne (Université catholique de Louvain)
  33. Enrico Vitale (Université catholique de Louvain)
  34. Jonathan Weinberger (Johns Hopkins University)
  35. Guoqui Yan (University of Notre Dame)