Workshop on Categories and Topology

In honour of Ieke Moerdijk who receives the 2022 Chaire de la Vallée Poussin, we hold a Workshop on Categories and Topology on Friday the 9th of September 2022.


9:00 Registration

9:30 a.m. Ieke Moerdijk (Utrecht): Profinite completion of Quillen model categories - Abstract 

10:30 a.m. Coffee break

11:00 a.m. John Bourke (Brno): Homotopical enrichment and adjoint functor theorems - Abstract 

11:50 a.m. Aniceto Murillo (Malaga): The geometrical side of derivations of Lie algebras - Abstract 

12:40  Lunch

2:00 p.m. Jérôme Scherer (EPFL): How complicated is the pullback of a (nice) extension? - Abstract 

2:50 p.m. Pedro Boavida (IST, Lisbon): Torus tricks and little disks operads - Abstract 

3:40 p.m. Coffee break

4:10 p.m. Sandra Mantovani (Milan):  Groupal Pseudofunctors - Abstract 

5:00 p.m. Emily Riehl (Johns Hopkins): Absolute lifting diagrams and formal category theory - Abstract 

5:50 p.m. End of the Workshop

This Workshop is supported by the Hoover Foundation for the development of UCLouvain and of KULeuven.


There will be a Colloquium talk by Emily Riehl entitled Path induction and the indiscernibility of identicals on Thursday 8 September.



Marino Gran, Pascal Lambrechts, Tim Van der Linden, Pedro Vaz and Enrico Vitale.


If you wish to register or if you have any further questions, please contact Carine Baras.


The workshop will take place at the Université catholique de Louvain in Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium.



  1. Miguel Barata (Utrecht University)
  2. Pierre Bieliavsly (Université catholique de Louvain) 
  3. Pedro Boavida (Instituto Superior Têcnico, Lisboa)
  4. John Bourke (Masaryk University Brno, Czech Republic)
  5. Guillermo Lopez Cafaggi (Université catholique de Louvain)
  6. Federico Campanini (Université catholique de Louvain)
  7. Elena Caviglia (University of Leicester)
  8. El-Mehdi Cherradi (IRIF Paris)
  9. Bryce Clarke (Centre INRIA de Saclay)
  10. Maxime Culot (Université catholique de Louvain)
  11. Jacques Darné  (Université catholique de Louvain)
  12. Florian De Leger (Académie des Sciences de Tchéquie)
  13. Bo Shan Deval (Université catholique de Louvain)
  14. Arnaud Duvieusart (Università degli Studi di Milano)
  15. Nadja Egner (Université catholique de Louvain)
  16. Jacopo Emmenegger (Università di Genova)
  17. Yves Félix (Université catholique de Louvain)
  18. Francesco Genovese (Univerzita Karlova)
  19. Marino Gran (Université catholique de Louvain)
  20. Rodrigue Haya Enriquez (Université catholique de Louvain)
  21. Lander Hermans (University of Antwerp)
  22. Pierre-Alain Jacqmin (Université catholique de Louvain)
  23. Pascal Lambrechts (Université catholique de Louvain)
  24. Pedro Malgalhaes (University of Barcelona)
  25. Sandra Mantovani (Università degli Studi di Milano)
  26. Sébastien Mattenet (Université catholique de Louvain)
  27. Paul-André Melliès (Université Paris Cité)
  28. Luca Mesiti (University of Leeds)
  29. Aline Michel (Université catholique de Louvain)
  30. Ieke Moerdijk (Université d'Utrecht)
  31. Olivia Monjon (Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne)
  32. Aniceto Murillo (University of Malaga)
  33. Piergiorgio Panero (University of Antwerp)
  34. Julio Perez Garcia (King's college, London)
  35. Julia Ramos Gonzalez (Université catholique de Louvain)
  36. Ülo Reimaa (University of Tartu)
  37. Emily Riehl (Johns Hopkins University)
  38. John F. Robert 
  39. Léo Schelstraete (Université catholique de Louvain)
  40. Jérôme Scherer (Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne)
  41. Anna Sopena Gilboy (University of Barcelona)
  42. Raffael Stenzel (Masaryk University Brno, Czech Republic)
  43. Florence Sterck (Université catholique de Louvain)
  44. Isar Stubbe (Université du Littoral Côte d'Opale)
  45. Tim Van der Linden (Université catholique de Louvain)
  46. Jan Van der Spiegel (Ageas Bruxelles)
  47. Pedro Vaz (Université catholique de Louvain)
  48. Joost Vercruysse (Université Libre de Bruxelles)
  49. Corentin Vienne (Université catholique de Louvain)
  50. Enrico Vitale (Université catholique de Louvain)
  51. Mike Wright (Archive for Mathematical Sciences, Bristol)
  52. Guoqui Yan (University of Notre Dame)
  53. Xu-an Zhao (Beijing Normal University)