Research Units





The Institute of Language and Communication (ILC) is one of the UCL’s 21 research institutes.


It is one of the ten institutes that fall within the Social Sciences and Humanities sector.

The ILC is made up of the following entities:

  • two research clusters: PLIN and PCOM (corresponding to the RECOM research centre)
  • two technology platforms: CENTAL and MIIL
  • two research centres: VALIBEL and CECL
  • five research groups: GIRCAM, GReMS, LASCO, ORM and TeAMM

They are shown in alphabetical order in the menu on the left.