Georges Lemaître Chair

Since its creation in 2016, the Georges Lemaître Chair has been awarded every year by the IRMP institute of UCLouvain to a world-leading personality in physics in the fields of fundamental interactions and cosmology. The Georges Lemaître Chair is named after Georges Lemaître, one of all times Belgium's leading physicists and recognized father of the Big Bang theory. He was professor at UCLouvain from 1925 to 1964.

The recipients of the Chair are so far:


Tracy Slatyer
Professor Slatyer is a theoretical physicist who works on particle physics, cosmology and astrophysics. Her research is motivated by questions of fundamental particle physics — in particular, the nature and interactions of dark matter — but she seeks answers to these questions by studying possible signatures of new physics in astrophysical and cosmological data. Her particular areas of focus include research into scenarios where the dark matter experiences new forces of nature, precision theoretical predictions for photon signals from heavy colliding dark matter particles, modeling of the possible effects of dark matter interactions on the history of the early cosmos, and hands-on data analysis of high-energy gamma-ray data in search of dark matter signals. She was a co-discoverer of the giant gamma-ray structures known as the “Fermi Bubbles” erupting from the center of the Milky Way.- link



Stefan Hild 
Stefan Hild is professor of Gravitational Research at the University of Maastricht. From 2009 until 2019 he had been lecturer, reader and then professor of Experimental Physics at the University of Glasgow. Stefan Hild is known internationally as a specialist in the design and construction of ultra-sensitive laser interferometers for measuring gravitational waves, the space-time vibrations predicted by Einstein’s theory of general relativity. Member of the LIGO, Virgo an GEO600 international collaborations, one of Stefan Hild’s next challenges will consist of building the ETPathfinder, a test centre where new ideas for instruments designed to measure gravitational waves can be tested and developed. The ETPathfinder is a prototype of the Einstein Telescope: the European next-generation laser detector ten kilometres in length that is expected to start observations after the year 2030. - link


Roberto Trotta 
Fellow of the Royal Astronomical Society, Associate Professor in Astrophysics at Imperial College London, Roberto Trotta is one of the leading authorities in the application and development of Bayesian Statistics in Astrophysics and Cosmology. Director of the Centre for Languages, Culture and Communication at Imperial, scientific reporter, entrepreneur, consultant, exceptional speaker, his spectrum of expertise has no limit. At the time where Science becomes multidisciplinary and where the exploration of the Universe is multi-messenger, the importance of the statistical methods used for data analysis and scientific inference has never been so critical. Roberto will give us the opportunity to learn the statistical methods of tomorrow. - link


Kyle Cranmer 
Professor of physics at New York University and affiliate member of the Center for Data Science and CILVR Machine Lab of New York University, he is an experimental particle physicist, mainly at the Large Hadron Collider of the CERN laboratory. He received his Ph.D. in Physics from the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 2005 and his B.A. in Mathematics and Physics from Rice University. He received the Presidential Early Career Award in Science and Engineering in 2007 and the National Science Foundation's Career Award in 2009. Professor Cranmer has developed an environment that allows collaborative statistical modeling, widely used in the discovery of the Higgs boson in July 2012. His current interests are on the borderline between physics, statistics and machine learning. - link


Eric Gourgoulhon
French researcher in theoretical astrophysics, Éric Gourgoulhon is directeur de recherche of the CNRS, he works at the Laboratoire Univers et théories in Meudon. He received the médaille d'argent of the CNRS in 2012, the prize Langevin from the Académie des sciences (2004) and the prize Jeune chercheur of the Société Française des spécialistes d'astrophysique (1998) - link