Boot Camp - Tools and Methods for Economists

Louvain-La-Neuve

Public

The boot camp is key for all the students registered in a master in economics at the ESL.

Each module is organized two times: 1 session for the MA students + 1 session for the MS/MD/2M1 students. 

Calendar

Module Content MA MS/MD/2M1
Stata - Introduction
  • Introduction to stata language
  • Descriptive stats & graphs
Tuesday 17th September
14.00 - 17.00
SOCR 034
Wednesday 18th September
9.00 - 12.00
DOYEN 3-4
Stata - Advanced
  • Advanced data management
  • Programming tips
Tuesday 24th September
14.00 - 17.00
SOCR 034
Wednesday 25th September
9.00 - 12.00
DOYEN 3-4
Math & Stats using Matlab
  • Introduction to Matlab language
  • Operation on matrices
  • Loops & Functions
Tuesday 1st October
14.00 - 17.00
SOCR 034
Wednesday 2nd October
9.00 - 12.00
DOYEN 3-4
Data collection
  • Macrobond
  • Amadeus
  • Bloomberg
Tuesday 8th October
14.00 - 17.00
SOCR 034
Wednesday 9th October
9.00 - 12.00
DOYEN 3-4
Scientific writing using LaTeX
  • Introduction to LaTeX syntax
  • Most common packages
Tuesday 15th October
14.00 - 15.30
SOCR 034
Wednesday 16th October
14.00 - 15.30
SOCR031-032
Finding scientific ressources
  • How to download articles published in peer-reviewed journals
  • Introduction to EndNote for bibliographic references
Tuesday 22 October
14.00 - 15.30
SOCR 034
Wednesday 23 October
9.00 - 11.30
DOYEN 3-4