Jean Van Schaftingen awarded the Jacques Deruyts Prize

Jean Van Schaftingen, professor at the Institut de Recherche en Mathématique et Physique and Head of the School of Mathematics, is the recipient of the Jacques Deruyts Prize(for the 18th annual period 2016-2020) for his distinguished research contributions on nonlinear partial differential equations by using the theory of critical points.

This prestigious Prize is awarded every four years by the Académie Royale de Belgique to a European mathematician who is the author of some very original research works in the field of mathematical analysis. It was created in 1952 to honor the memory of Jacques Deruyts, a Belgian mathematician known as a pioneer of group representation theory. 

The proclamation and the award ceremony took place on 18 December 2021, during the public session of the Classe des Sciences de l’Académie Royale de Belgique.

Published on January 11, 2022