Doctoral School in Economics

1. General information:

The PhD in Economics is organized by the Economics School of Louvain and the Facult​​​​​y of Economics, Political Science and Communication

This three year program prepares candidate for research and teaching positions in academia and private or public organizations across the world


Isabelle Portzenheim
Collège Léon Dupriez
Place Montesquieu 4/L2.05.01
1348 Louvain-la-Neuve
Tel.: 010 47 39 54

2.  Doctoral regulation:

More info

3.  Conditions of admission:

More info

4. PhD students:

4.1. Job placement 2017 - 2018:

Christoph Deuster : Junior professional officer at the Population division of the United Nations
Mery Ferrando Gutierrez : Universiteit Tilburg (The Netherlands)
Zainab Iftikhar : Postdoctoral fellow at the Goethe University Frankfurt, (Germany)
Guzman Ourens : Assistant professor at Tilburg University (The Netherlands)
Èric Roca Fernández : Postdoctoral fellow at Aix-Marseille School of Economics (France)
Andrea Pirrone: Financial Conduct Authority, London (United Kingdom)
Tommaso Sonno : Assistant professor at the University of Bologna (Italy)

4.2. LIDAM PhD thesis completed in 2018:

February 5, 2018
Andrea Pirrone. Three essays on economics: Information aggregation, pension schemes and economic growth
Promoter: Julio Davila (UCLouvain)
September 13, 2018
Simon Schopohl. Essays on communication and information transmission
Promoters: Tim Helmann  (Universität Bielefeld), Agniezka Rusinowska (Paris School of Economics) and Vincent Vannetelbosch (UCLouvain)
April 25, 2018
Zainab Iftikhar. Essays on the effects of migration and demographic factors on labour markets and accumulation
Promoters: David de la Croix (UCLouvain) and Christiane Clemens (Universität Bielefeld)
September 13, 2018
Christoph Deuster. Migration, human capital, and climate change
Promoters: Frédéric Docquier (UCLouvain) and Catia Bastia (Nova University Lisbon)
June 20, 2018
Tommaso Sonno. Essays on globalisation and conflicts, populism and firm heterogeneity
Promoters: Florian Mayneris (UCLouvain) and Carlo Altomonte (Universita di Bocconi)
October 4, 2018
Simone Martelli. The role of cities for climate change mitigation in Europe
Promoters: Thierry Bréchet (UCLouvain), Paolo Paruolo (European Commission) and Eric Strobl (University of Bern and University of Birmingham)
July 4, 2018
Thu Hien Dao. On the fundamental drivers of international migration
Promoters: Frédéric Docquier (UCLouvain) and Christiane Clemens (Universität Bielefeld)
November 27, 2018
Elisa Rizzo. Essays on education and stages of growth
Promoters: David de la Croix (UCLouvain) and Bertrand Wigniolle (Paris School of Economics and Université Paris 1)
August 23, 2018
Mery Ferrando. Essays on income, education and intra-household poverety and inequality
Promoter: François Maniquet (UCLouvain)
December 3, 2018
Sinem Bas. Essays on inequality, poverty and gender inequality, with applications to Turkey
Promoters: François Maniquet (UCLouvain) and Alain Chateauneuf (Université Paris 1)
September 6, 2018
Nicolas-Kirti Scholtes. Interbank networks and financial stability
Promoters: Jean-Yves Gnabo (UNamur) and Sophie Béreau (UCLouvain)November 11, 2018
December 17, 2018
Andras Gregor. Essays on empirical political economics
Promoter: Jean Hindriks (UCLouvain)
September 6, 2018
Eric Roca Fernandez. Essays on income, education and intra-household poverty and inequality
Promoter: François Maniquet (UCLouvain)

4.3. Current Ph.D. Students (2019)

Ehui Adovor Xuyang Chen Jérôme Dollinger Leda Inga Charaja Mariam Nanumyan Mathieu Sauvenier
Pablo Aguilar Carcia Borsi Chafwehe Cyrille Dossougoin Keiti Kondi Alexandre Ounnas Hendrik Scheewel
Douglas Amuli Ibale Fabrizio Ciotti Valeria Forlin Nathan Lachapelle Francesco Pascucci Yannick Schenk
Gautier Attanasi François Courtoy Annalisa Frigo Adam Levai Risa Pavia Valerio Serse
Sinem Bas Léo Czajka Sylvain Funck Chenghong Luo Erika Pini Yu Sun
Ano Baurin Charles de Beauffort Andras Gregor Simone Martelli Jonathan Piron Akylai Taalaibekova
Fabio Blasutto Pierre de Callataÿ Coralie Helleputte Juliana Mesen Vargas Allaa Ridouan Lorenzo Tondi
Sefane Cetin Arnaud Deseau Thuc Huan Ha Dalal Moosa Guillermo Santos Antreassian Daniele Verdini