Members

Staff

Chiara Arina

it

My research activities relate to the dark matter problem within a particle physics perspective. My theoretical work focuses on dark matter model building in connection with the problem of generation of neutrino masses and/or of the visible matter. My phenomenological research focuses on various aspects of dark matter detection (direct, indirect and at collider), with a particular attention to the statistical approach.

Office: E.250

Email: chiara.arina@uclouvain.be

Giacomo Bruno

it

Experimental particle physicist doing research with the CMS experiment at the LHC collider of the CERN laboratory. Currently involved in searches for signals of physics beyond the Standard Model; development of calibration and reconstruction techniques; operation of the Belgian Tier2 computing centre that is part of the World LHC Computing Grid; and upgrade of the CMS silicon tracker detector.

Office: E.262

Phone: (+32 10 4) 7 3215

Email: giacomo.bruno@uclouvain.be

Eduardo Cortina Gil

es

Experimental particle physics. I'm mainly involved inNA62 experiment at CERN: detector completion and radiative kaon decays. I'm also interested in detector development for future experiments: monolithic pixel detectors and fine granularity calorimetry.

Office: E.264

Phone: (+32 10 4) 7 3242

Email: eduardo.cortina@uclouvain.be

Christophe Delaere

be

Experimental particle physicist working on the performances and operation of the CMS detector, as deputy run coordinator. Also involved in the measurement of the Zb(b) cross-section and kinematical properties at LHC. The goal is to measure the process with early data to pave to road to searches for new physics with similar signatures.

Office: E.266

Phone: (+32 10 4) 7 3207

Email: christophe.delaere@uclouvain.be

Thierry Delbar

be

Production and collection of Li8 and B8 nuclei to be used for the production of neutrino beams (project EuroNu)

Office: E.362

Phone: (+32 10 4) 7 3202

Email: thierry.delbar@uclouvain.be

Marco Drewes

de

I combine studies of the early universe with the results of laboratory experiments and astronomical observations to address fundamental questions in particle physics and cosmology.

Claude Duhr

lu

I am interested in higher-order computations in the Standard Model and in N=4 Supersymmetric theories.

Office: E.253

Phone: (+32 10 4) 7 8185

Email: claude.duhr@uclouvain.be

Jean-Marc Gérard

be

Phenomenological aspects of the fundamental interactions, gravity included.

Office: E.246

Phone: (+32 10 4) 7 2712

Email: jean-marc.gerard@uclouvain.be

Andrea Giammanco

it

Experimental particle physicist. Interested in data analysis, simulations, phenomenology, non-HEP applications of HEP techniques (and vice versa). Member of the CMS collaboration and of the DELPHES project.

Office: E.359

Phone: (+32 10 4) 7 3221

Email: andrea.giammanco@uclouvain.be

Jan Govaerts

be

The fundamental interactions, their theories and their quantum unification

Office: E.252

Phone: (+32 10 4) 7 3226

Email: Jan.Govaerts@uclouvain.be

Vincent Lemaitre

be

Experimentalist, CMS collaboration. Search for phenomena Beyond the Standard Model. In particular, in the scalar sector related to the electroweak symmetry breaking and in final states including top quarks. Also interested in the silicon tracker developments and construction for the next generation of experiments.

Office: E.265

Phone: (+32 10 4) 7 3241

Email: vincent.lemaitre@uclouvain.be

Fabio Maltoni

it

I am interested in the phenomenology of the standard model and beyond, and particularly in collider physics.

Office: E.247

Phone: (+32 10 4) 7 3166

Email: fabio.maltoni@uclouvain.be

Krzysztof Piotrzkowski

pl

Experimentalist. Studying high energy photon interactions at hadron colliders, specifically the photon quartic couplings to weak bosons. Originator of the HPS project, which has eventually become part of the Proton Precision Spectrometer (PPS) proposed by CMS and Totem. Working on the PPS detector developments as novel timing detectors with picosecond resolution.

Office: E.263

Phone: (+32 10 4) 7 3244

Email: krzysztof.piotrzkowski@uclouvain.be

Christophe Ringeval

fr

Early universe cosmology, CMB, inflationary cosmology, topological defects, string cosmology, data analysis.

Office: E.352

Phone: (+32 10 4) 7 2075

Email: christophe.ringeval@uclouvain.be

Research scientists

Jérôme de Favereau

be

CP3 website developement and maintenance, issue tracking system, general support, cluster maintenance, openstack deployement, CMS detector upgrade among other things...

Office: E.356

Phone: (+32 10 4) 7 3113

Email: jerome.defavereau@uclouvain.be

Pavel Demin

ru

I'm working for the CMS experiment. My current responsibilities: developing physics analysis software for CMS; heavy flavor jet tagging based on electron identification; enabling computing GRID at UCLouvain/CP3.

Office: E.355

Phone: (+32 10 4) 7 3165

Email: pavel.demin@uclouvain.be

Olivier Mattelaer

be

Responsible software maintenance and development of MadGraph 5, AMC@NLO (including MadSpin and ALOHA). Study of new experimental approaches using the matrix element re-weighting.

Andres Tanasijczuk

de

Computing support, Grid computing, CMS Remote Analysis Builder software.

Office: E.356

Phone: (+32 10 4) 73036

Email: andres.tanasijczuk@uclouvain.be

Postdocs

Hamed Bakhshiansohi

ir

My main interest is to search for top-Higgs anomalous couplings in single-top plus Higgs events, where the Higgs boson decays to two photons using the CMS experiment data. This is the only process that can determine the relative sign of the Higgs boson couplings to other bosons and fermions, at the leading order. The Higgs boson’s decay to photons is expected to have the highest sensitivity among other Higgs decay modes, as the branching ratio of the H→γγ also changes by modifying the Higgs couplings to top-quark and W-boson.

Office: E.358

Phone: (+32 10 4) 73217

Email: hbakhshi@cern.ch

Olivier Bondu

fr

I am a CMS experimentalist interested in connections between the Higgs boson and physics Beyond the Standard Model. In particular I am working on di-Higgs production at the LHC in the HbbHgg and HbbHWW channels. While the Standard Model cross-section of these process is very low, I am studying resonant production (WED, 2HDM, MSSM), and anomalous non-resonant production (EFT).

Office: E.260

Phone: (+32 10 4) 72994

Email: olivier.bondu@uclouvain.be

Sébastien Brochet

fr

I'm a postdoctoral researcher in particle physics, member of the CMS collaboration. My main interest is in the search for physics beyond the Standard Model linked to the top quark. For this, I've directly contributed to the search for spin 1 and spin 0 resonances decaying to top-antitop during the Run 1 of the LHC. Currently, I'm working in a model-independent strategy to search for new physics, with concrete applications to the measurement of the ttH coupling, as well as the study of HH resonances.

Claudio Caputo

it


Office: E.164

Email: claudio.caputo@cern.ch

Sébastien Clesse

be

I study inflation, especially models of hybrid inflation and their dynamics. I'm also involved in research in the fields of cosmological perturbations, dark matter, and 21cm cosmology.

Office: E.354

Phone: (+32 10 4) 7 3155

Pieter David

be

Experimental particle physicist, member of the CMS collaboration. Currently working on measurements of processes involving top quarks in order to constrain higher-order EFT operators.

Office: E.357

Email: pieter.david@uclouvain.be

Abideh Jafari

ir

I am analyzing CMS data to precisely measure the single top quark properties and to search for new physics in this sector. I am also interested in possible Higgs boson decays to new particles in the framework of Two Higgs Doublet models.

Office: E.359

Phone: (+32 10 4) 7 3221

Email: ajafari@cern.ch

Michele Lucente

it


Office: E.353

Phone: (+32 10 4) 73344

Email: michele.lucente@uclouvain.be

Manoj Kumar Mandal

in


Office: E.149

Ken Mimasu

fr

Collider phenomenology beyond the Standard Model, particularly on extended scalar sectors (two-Higgs doublet models, axion-like particles). Probing the Electroweak phase transition at the LHC. Confronting Baryogenesis via a strong electroweak phase transition with collider signatures at the LHC and beyond. Precision Higgs measurements and global fits in the framework of effective field theory.

Office: E.248

Email: ken.mimasu@uclouvain.be

Liam Moore

be

I work on Top Quark Phenomenology in the Standard Model Effective Field Theory, and the development of the FeynRules package

Office: E.357

Email: l.moore@cern.ch

Marco Musich

it

Experimental particle physicist working with the CMS experiment at the LHC collider of the CERN laboratory. Currently involved in searches for signals of physics beyond the Standard Model and development of detector alignment and calibration techniques.

Office: E.164

Email: marco.musich@cern.ch

Mathieu Perrin-Terrin

fr


Plamen Petrov

bg

Experimental particle physicist studying rare kaon decays at the NA62 experiment. At present my work is focused on firmware development for the NA62 trigger and data-acquisition system and the preparation for the measurement of lepton-flavour violating kaon decays.

Office: E.249

Phone: (+32 10 4) 7 3218

Email: plamen.petrov@uclouvain.be

Ambresh Shivaji

in

I work in the area of collider physics. My current research interests include precision calculations and phenomenology of new physics using effective field theories.

Office: E.149

Phone: (+32 10 4) 73275

Ioannis Tsinikos

gr

I am interested in collider phenomenology, focusing on Standard Model processes and beyond. At the current time I am working on EW corrections in ttbar production at the LHC.

Office: E.148

Phone: (+32 10 4) 73224

Email: ioannis.tsinikos@uclouvain.be

Miguel Vidal Marono

es

Experimentalist at the CMS experiment. Higgs searches and advanced techniques for data analysis in high energy physics (MoMEMta).

Office: E.257

Phone: (+32 10 4) 73229

Email: miguel.vidal.marono@cern.ch

Sandro Dias Pinto Vitenti

br


Office: E.354

Phone: (+32 10 4) 73155

Visitors

Federico Ambrogi

be


Roberto Franceschini

it

Probing fundamental interactions ...

Office: E.248

Email: roberto.franceschini@cern.ch

André Füzfa

be

Professor at FUNDP, working in theoretical cosmology: interpretations of dark energy, observational constraints from structure formation, Hubble diagram, CMB, ... and on complex systems in general relativity: dynamical systems, multi-physics N-body simulations, numerical relativity.

Office: E.358

Phone: (+32 10 4) 7 3217

Jan Hajer

be


Kaoru Hawigara

be


Antonio Santos

br

BSM physics and dark matter.

PhD students

Paula Álvarez Rengifo

co


Office: F. 025

Phone: (+32 10 4) 7 2024

Elvira Cerveró García

es

Flavour physics in the Standard Model and beyond

Office: E.250

Phone: (+32 10 4) 7 3875

Email: elvira.cervero@uclouvain.be

Martin Delcourt

gb

Development of a new tracker for the CMS upgrade phase 2 and study of the feasibility of measurements at the HL-LHC.

Office: E.259

Phone: (+32 10 4) 7 3263

Email: martin.delcourt@uclouvain.be

Brieuc François

be

Search for physics beyond the standard model in the llbb+MET topology with CMS data. This study will be extended to the search for the rare process ttH.

Office: E.166

Phone: (+32 10 4) 7 3197

Email: brieuc.francois@uclouvain.be

Alina Kleimenova

ru


Office: E.249

Email: alina.kleimenova@uclouvain.be

Matthias Komm

de

Top Quark Physics: precision measurements and searches for beyond SM physics with CMS. Also involved in Fast Simulation development of the CMS detector.

Office: E.358

Phone: (+32 10 4) 7 3217

Email: Matthias.Komm@cern.ch

Georgios Konstantinos Krintiras

gr

Experimentalist in the realm of the CMS experiment at LHC, Geneva. I am studying processes involving single top quarks which provide direct probes of electroweak interactions. The second (2015-2018) operational period of LHC, with an expected luminosity of at least four times greater than its first round, will boost the sensitivity of the associated production of single top quarks with Higgs bosons. Such a process offers a stringent test for the SM predictions and serves as an excellent opportunity for identifying departures from this standard picture. Also, I am performing studies within fast detector simulations, i.e. in the context of CMS FastSim.

Office: E.358

Phone: (+32 10 4) 7 3217

Email: gkrintir@cern.ch

Zhengwen Liu

cn

I am interested in analytic computations in quantum field theories, with current focus on the Standard Model Effective Field Theory.

Office: E.254

Email: zhengwen.liu@uclouvain.be

Alessio Magitteri

it

I work in CMS Experiment. I am working on H->ZZ->llvv topology and I am involved in hight energy muon reconstruction.

Office: E.261

Phone: (+32 10 4) 73271

Email: alessio.magitteri@uclouvain.be

Carlos Mandeiro

be


Office: E164

Email: c.mandeiro@uclouvain.be

Sameh Mannai

tn

I am working on the construction and the optimisation of a hadronic calorimeter for the CALICE collaboration for ILC (International Linear collider).

Office: E.164

Phone: (+32 10 4) 7 3227

Email: sameh.mannai@uclouvain.be

Luca Mantani

it

I work on LHC phenomenology, in particular how to detect new interactions among SM and interpret them via the SMEFT.

Office: E.166

Email: luca.mantani@uclouvain.be

Robin Marzucca

de

PhD student in theoretical particle physics, working on the mathematical structures of scattering amplitudes. Special interest in elliptic polylogarithms.

Office: E 162

Phone: (+32 10 4) 73237

Email: robin.marzucca@uclouvain.be

Martin Michel

be


Office: E.254

Email: martin.michel@uclouvain.be

Elisa Minucci

it

Experimentalist, working on the study of rare and forbidden decays, in particular on Lepton Number and Flavor violating K+ decays at the NA62 experiment at CERN

Office: E.249

Phone: (+32 10 4) 7 3218

Alessia Saggio

it

Experimentalist, involved in the development of new tools for multi-variate analysis and member of the CMS collaboration

Office: E.260

Email: alessia.saggio@uclouvain.be

Bram Verbeek

be

PhD student in theoretical physics, working on topics related to the mathematical structure of scattering amplitudes.

Office: E.162

Phone: (+32 10 4) 79396

Email: bram.verbeek@uclouvain.be

Sébastien Wertz

be

Experimentalist with the CMS collaboration. Searches for non-resonant new physics in the llbb+MET topology (hh and ttbar processes). Also involved in the development of new tools easing the use of the Matrix Element Method.

Office: E.258

Phone: (+32 10 4) 73347

Email: sebastien.wertz@uclouvain.be

Xiaoran Zhao

cn

Higgs phenomonology

Office: E.148

Email: xiaoran.zhao@uclouvain.be

Jože Zobec

si

I am working on the long-lived exotic particles with the CMS group. My other more technical interest, unrelated to my work is high-performance computing. Appart from that I really do enjoy cooking, singing and playing board games.

Office: E.261

Phone: (+32 10 4) 73271

Students

Meriem Ben Meslem

be


Domitien Bertrand

be


Florian Bury

be


Valentin Goffinet

be


Sophie Mathieu

be


Julien Toucheque

be


Gaël Van Dieren

be


Sophie Wuyckens

be


Technical staff

Jean-Marc Delforge

be


Office: F.011

Phone: (+32 10 4) 7 3214

Email: jean-marc.delforge@uclouvain.be

Corentin Félix



Office: F.011

Phone: (+32 10 4) 7 3214

Email: Corentin.Felix@uclouvain.be

Michael Jonckman



Office: F.006

Phone: (+32 10 4) 7 3214

Email: michael.jonckman@uclouvain.be

Daniel Michotte



Office: E.070

Phone: (+32 10 4) 7 3200

Email: daniel.michotte@uclouvain.be

Jean-Pierre Page

be


Office: F.071

Phone: (+32 10 4) 7 3248

Email: jean-pierre.page@uclouvain.be

Administration

Luc Kruijfhooft

be

Gestionnaire comptable

Office: E.346

Phone: (+32 10 4) 7 3223

Email: luc.kruijfhooft@uclouvain.be

Carinne Mertens

be

Providing secretarial support to CP3.

Office: E.366

Phone: (+32 10 4) 73273

Email: carinne.mertens@uclouvain.be

Christine Thielens

be

Cellule Logistique et Comptable (CLC)

Office: E.347

Phone: (+32 10 4) 7 3425

Email: christine.thielens@uclouvain.be

Guests

Denis Favart

be


Office: E.048

Email: denis.favart@uclouvain.be

Ghislain Grégoire

be

Experimentalist. Detection of radiations (nearly all types ...). Design, simulation, construction, setup and operation of radiation detectors.

Office: B.224

Phone: (+32 10 4) 7 3216

Email: ghislain.gregoire@uclouvain.be

Christian Hagendorf

de

I am interested in exactly-solvable models in statistical mechanics, integrability and combinatorics.

Jean Liénardy

be

I work on statistical and mathematical physics. I am interested in Supersymmetric one-dimensional Quantum Spin chains, Integrability and Combinatorics.

Jean Pestieau

be

Electroweak Interactions

Office: B.302

Phone: (+32 10 4) 73284

Email: Jean.Pestieau@uclouvain.be

René Prieels

be

Energy issues: analysis of the energy future based mainly on the physical capabilities of all resources available.

Jacques Weyers

be

Flavor physics, QCD and EW interactions, for SM and BSM phenomenology, especially in the context of heavy meson decays.

Office: B.302

Phone: (+32 10 4) 7 3284

Email: jacques.weyers@uclouvain.be